ZADZU
 




 

On Thursday, June 21st at 7:30pm Warwick's will host Jill G. Hall to discuss and sign her new book The Silver Shoes. Jill G. Hall is the author of The Black Velvet Coat, an International Book Award Finalist for Best New Fiction. Her poems have appeared in a variety of publications, including A Year in Ink, The Avocet, and Wild Women, Wild Voices. On her blog, Crealivity, she shares personal musings about the art of practicing a creative lifestyle. She is a seasoned presenter at seminars, readings, and community events. In addition to writing, Hall practices yoga, tap dances, and enjoys spending time in nature. This event is free and open to the public. Reserved Seating is available when the book is pre-ordered from Warwick's for the event. Only books purchased from Warwick's will be signed. Please call the Warwick's Book Dept. (858) 454-0347 for details.In her second novel, Jill G. Hall, author of The Black Velvet Coat, brings readers another dual tale of two dynamic women from two very different eras searching for fulfillment.San Francisco artist Anne McFarland has been distracted by a cross-country romance with sexy Sergio and has veered from her creative path. While visiting him in New York, she buys a pair of rhinestone shoes in an antique shop that spark her imagination and lead her on a quest to learn more about the shoes' original owner.Almost ninety years earlier, Clair Deveraux, a sheltered 1929 New York debutante, tries to reside within the bounds of polite society and please her father. But when she meets Winnie, a carefree Macy's shop girl, Clair is lured into the steamy side of Manhattan--a place filled with speakeasies, flappers, and the beat of "that devil music"--and her true desires explode wide open. Secrets and lies heap up until her father loses everything in the stock market crash and Clair becomes entangled in the burlesque world in an effort to save her family and herself.Ultimately, both Anne and Clair--two very different women living in very different eras--attain true fulfillment . . . with some help from their silver shoes.

Location: WARWICKS 7812 Girard Ave La Jolla, CA. | Start: 6/21/2018 7:30:00 PM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




In Terrible Blooms (Copper Canyon), APR/Honickman First Book Prize-winning poet Melissa Stein subverts the old trope and trappings of femininity with sound-rich lyric and punch. In this lush, disturbing second collection from Stein, exquisite images are salvaged from harm and survival. Set against the natural world’s violence – both ordinary and sublime – pain shines jewel-like out of these poems, illuminating what lovers and families conceal. Stein uses her gifts for persona and lyric richness to build worlds that are vivid, intricate, tough, sexy, and raw: "over and over // life slapping you in the face / till you’re newly burnished / flat-out gasping and awake." Breathless with risk and redemption, Terrible Blooms shows how loss claims us and what we reclaim.

Location: Powell's Books on Hawthorne 3723 Southeast Hawthorne Boulevard Portland, OR. | Start: 6/21/2018 7:30:00 PM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Steve Toutonghi’s second novel, Side Life (Soho), is a dazzling, intriguing, and philosophical blend of literary science fiction – perfect for fans of Blake Crouch, Philip K. Dick and Ex Machina. Vin, a down-on-his-luck young tech entrepreneur forced out of the software company he started, takes a job house-sitting an ultra-modern Seattle mansion whose owner has gone missing. There he discovers a secret basement lab with an array of computers and three large, smooth caskets. Inside one he finds a woman in a state of suspended animation. There is also a dog-eared notebook filled with circuit diagrams, beautiful and intricate drawings of body parts, and pages of code. When Vin decides to enter one of the caskets himself, his reality begins to unravel, and he finds himself on a terrifying journey that raises fundamental questions about reality, free will, and the meaning of a human life. Toutonghi will be joined in conversation by Pauls Toutonghi, author of Dog Gone.

Location: Powell's City of Books 1005 W Burnside St. Portland, OR. | Start: 6/21/2018 7:30:00 PM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar’s moving and lyrical debut novel is to Syria what The Kite Runner was to Afghanistan. The story of two girls living 800 years apart – a modern-day Syrian refugee seeking safety and a medieval adventurer apprenticed to a legendary mapmaker – places today's headlines in the sweep of history, where the pain of exile and the triumph of courage echo again and again. Following alternating timelines and a pair of unforgettable heroines coming of age in perilous times, Joukhadar’s The Map of Salt and Stars (Touchstone) is the epic story of one girl telling herself the legend of another and learning that, if you listen to your own voice, some things can never be lost.

Location: Powell's City of Books 1005 W Burnside St. Portland, OR. | Start: 6/5/2018 7:30:00 PM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Grove City Premium Outlets is inviting shoppers to kick off the holiday weekend in style, with summer savings in full swing at the annual Memorial Day Weekend Sidewalk Sale. Beginning Friday, May 25 through Monday, May 28, many of the center’s top brand-name retailers will host “This Weekend Only” sales, affording shoppers four days of specials beyond everyday savings of 25 to 65 percent. Additionally, shoppers can enjoy all the summer fun Grove City Premium Outlets has to offer with a Bungee Jump ride, located just outside of the food court, and delicious drinks and treats from Seivers Fresh Lemonade stands and the ever-popular, Snowman, which will be located near the Old Navy Outlet offering YETI's, ice cream and shaved ice treats. To honor the brave citizens serving the country, members of the military who present their ID at Simon Guest Services will receive a VIP Savings Passport coupon book valid at participating retailers. Shoppers, with ties to the military, can also show their military ID badge and visit select stores to receive exclusive discounts. To find the participating retailers, look for a patriotic star decal affixed to the store window. Grove City premium Outlets also offers reserved parking for Military, the reserved parking spots are located between Starbucks and Bath & Bodyworks and is noted with special signage. Grove City Premium Outlets is located in Grove City, Pennsylvania, off of highway I-79 at exit 113. Grove City Premium Outlets features more than 130 specialty outlet stores, including Columbia Sportswear, Banana Republic, Gap, Nike, Old Navy, The North Face, Tommy Hilfiger, Under Armour and Vera Bradley. For more information on Grove City Premium Outlets, visit www.premiumoutlets.com/grovecity. “Like” Grove City Premium Outlets at Facebook.com/GroveCityPremiumOutlets and follow us on Instagram @GroveCityPO to stay up to date.

Location: Grove City Premium Outlet 1911 Leesburg Grove City Rd Grove City, PA. | Start: 5/25/2018 9:00:00 AM End: 5/25/2018 9:00:00 PM
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Join us for our fifth annual Pet Expo! This will be a nice opportunity for our wonderful pet supply vendors to showcase their products and services at our Pet Expo 2018! You won’t want to miss this opportunity to interact with our manufacturer reps! Confirmed vendors for this year: -Nite Ize -Ruffwear -AvoDerm Natural Pet Foods -Natural Balance Pet Foods -Walk-e-Woo -Earthborn Holistic -Revive Organic Soil Treatment -In Clover -Taste of the Wild Pet Food -Zignature & Fussie Cat -Pet Releaf -CANIDAE Pet Foods -@activphy -@loveamericandog -Scratch and Peck Feeds -Fromm Family Foods -Down Dog Snacks -@ColoradoDawg -@absolutelycleanproducts Confirmed services & activities: -Humane Society of Boulder Valley will be here with puppies that are available for adoption! -Colorado Pet Pantry -Dogma Catma Pet Sitting, LLC -Well Animal Institute -@MonarchPet -@SummitDogRescue -@DrJeff-Rocky-Mountain-vet Support the Humane Society of Boulder Valley by “rounding up” at our cash registers! Let your cashier know how much you’d like to donate or simply “round up” to the nearest dollar! Help us help one of Boulder’s most important community partners! Stop by to check out these products, demos, samples, promotions, and activities. Many representatives will have prize drawings that you can win, as well as samples to try, so bring your dog (or cat) to this pet-friendly event! Enjoy great discounts all weekend on products from Check back periodically as we will update with more details!

Location: McGuckin Hardware 2525 Arapahoe Avenue Boulder, CO. | Start: 6/2/2018 10:00:00 AM End: 6/2/2018 4:00:00 PM
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




0

Location: Bookmans Entertainment Exchange 3733 West Ina Road Tucson, AZ. | Start: 7/12/2018 12:00:00 AM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Registered campers can set up items for sale at their campsite. Some items are prohibited.

Location: Rocky Fork State Park 9800 North Shore Drive Hillsboro, OH. | Start: 8/4/2018 9:00:00 AM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Registered campers can set up items for sale at their campsite. Some items are prohibited.

Location: Rocky Fork State Park 9800 North Shore Drive Hillsboro, OH. | Start: 6/9/2018 9:00:00 AM End:
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful




Osage Beach Outlet Marketplace invites families near and far to celebrate summer and shop an ever-changing selection of styles during the Memorial Day Super Sidewalk Sale from Friday, May 25 – Monday, May 28! Shoppers can expect to find enormous deals on top of everyday savings up to 65 percent off on a variety of sought-after brands, including Gap Factory Store, J. Crew Factory, Nike Factory Store and more! Whether families are lounging near the lake, visiting some of Missouri’s great state parks, or attending a Memorial Day Barbeque, shoppers can explore the swimwear selection at American Eagle Outfitters, stock up on summer styles for little ones at Carter’s, find colorful flip flops at Rack Room Shoes or browse sunglasses for any occasion at Sunglass Hut. WHAT: Memorial Day Super Sidewalk Sale Stock up on hot summer styles while finding sizzling savings on premium brands WHEN: Friday, May 25 – Monday, May 28 Friday-Saturday: 10 a.m. – 9 p.m. Sunday: 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. Monday: 10 a.m. – 9 p.m. WHERE: Osage Beach Outlet Marketplace 4540 Osage Beach Pkwy Osage Beach, MO 65065 HOW: For more information, visit premiumoutlets.com/osagebeach or connect via social on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Location: Osage Beach Outlet Marketplace 4540 Osage Beach Parkway Osage Beach, MO. | Start: 5/25/2018 10:00:00 AM End: 5/25/2018 9:00:00 PM
Local Events, Concerts, Tickets

Events by Eventful



     Next >>